Whose job is it?

whose job

The other day I was working and planning on a seminar that we wanted to do with my colleagues and our target audience was were school leavers. I was working with a team of four people and it so happened that I stuck and I never asked any of my colleagues for help. I left and did not complete my research and assumed that someone will do it.
A day before the event I got asked a question by my colleagues please present the research I was perplexed and I started to sweat. “I got stack then I thought someone was going to do it. Everyone looked at me with that face Really Mallvine. I had to do the research and asked for their assistance.
I learned a good lesson to keep the channel of communication open and not to assume. This reminded me of a story that I once heard and it made me appreciate my team
Once upon a time, they were four great friends namely Somebody, Nobody, Everybody and Anybody. They had lived their lives as brothers in a small village. One day the team gathered together because they had an upcoming Job which was going to change their lives for good, just like any other job they need resources, so Everybody was sure that someone will do it yet anyone could have done it. Somebody got angry about it because of it because it was everybody’s job. Everybody thought everybody will do it. In the end, everybody blamed somebody when nobody did what everybody could do.
In a team or a family whose job is it to keep the channel of communication open? is it somebody, anybody, everybody or nobody. Do not wait and expect somebody everybody and anybody to do what you are not willing to do. Communication should be done by everybody because it is everybody job.
Ponder Points – whose job is it?
if it is up to you then DO IT!!!


Leave a comment